Tokyo Cooking Class
Online cooking class of Gyoza from scratch

Gyoza   Ota Chuo Tokyo
★★★★★ 8

House

Pick Up

Vegetarian

2 hours

Max 4 guests

Market Visiting






Cooking Class Menu


Gyoza is a dumpling using thin dough wrapped around delicious, mouth-watering ingredients. You can customize them according to your favorites but common ones include minced pork, cabbage, garlic and leek. Gyoza originated in China, but have evolved in Japan to be a uniquely Japanese staple of household cooking. Try it for yourself and get hooked on gyoza!

  • Gyoza

    Gyoza

    Gyoza is a dumpling using wrapping thing dough to hold the inner ingredients. Most commonly, minced pork, cabbage, Garlic and Leek. The origin of Gyoza is from China but it has evolved uniquely in Japan and now quite different from the Chinese one.

Cooking Class Information

This is a two-hour online private cooking class using Zoom. We will introduce ourselves and start preparing the gyoza using dough.
I'll teach you how to prepare the filling, how to wrap the dumplings, and pan-fry them carefully.
The ingredients are easy to prepare and find in most supermarkets:
Main Ingredients.

80g all purpose flour
minced pork or chicken,
cabbage , celery , green onion ,
ginger and garlic

The gyoza are crunchy and crispy, and the ingredients are fresh and vibrant, so let's make homemade dumplings together! You'll be amazed at how good it tastes!

Host availability
1) 8:00 am (Japan Standard Time) --> Los Angeles 4:00 pm, New York 7:00 pm, London midnight, Paris 1:00 am, Sydney 9:00 am

2) 11:00 am (Japan Standard Time) --> Los Angeles 7 pm, New York 10 pm, London 3 am, Paris 4 am, Sydney 12 noon

3) 9:00 pm (Japan Standard Time) --> Los Angeles 5 am, New York 8 am, London 1 pm, Paris 2 pm, Sydney 10 pm

We are flexible with time - please feel free to ask about your desired time.

We'll chat on WhatsApp, Instagram or Zoom in advance to discuss ingredients, possible substitutes, and any questions you may have.

Please send a booking request at least three days in advance of your desired date.

I'm looking forward to welcoming you!!





About Host


host-Junko

Junko

★★★★★ (8)

All cooking classes by Junko



Hello, welcome to Japan!!
My name is Junko Hayashi.
I'm a foodie person who loves to chitchat and entertain people .
I'm living in Tokyo with my great family(husband and a son).
I have been working at a hotel as a concierge in Tokyo.
Through my career, I notice that many travelers are interested in Japanese homemade food and love to meet Japanese people.
So, I decided to open a cooking class to invite those tourists to experience Japanese culture at home.
In the cooking experience, I can also guide you about Tokyo's hideout restaurants and the latest sightseeing spots, so please leave your help on traveling.
I am looking forward to seeing you.

Instagram ID : jmammytokyo

Please take a look at my cooking class and my daily life on Instagram!!



Area



The closest station

Ōmori Station




How to get to the station?

From Tokyo Station: 20mins





Exact location provided after booking.


Reviews of Cooking Class

Brianne, United States of America

★★★★★

Our cooking experience with Junko was wonderful, fun, and welcoming! My son, who is 9, joined in and he enjoyed making Gyozas! Junko is very accommodating and caring. We also had ASL interpreters during the class and Junko was easy-going and accessible. I would recommend this cooking experience 100%!

Oct 2020


host-Junko

Response from Junko
Hi Braianne, Thank you for the best reviews. I was glad to hear that the Gyoza which made together have gone soon and your kids wanted more. Your son could make wrappers from dough and wrap filling very well. Let me know when you take interested in making another Japanese dishes. I'll be able to teach you online. See you next time!! Junko


Antoinette, United States of America

★★★★★

An amazing experience. We love to cook and thought a cooking class would be a perfect fathers day gift. We had been in Japan last November, and wanted to continue our experience. Junko was amazing. She was incredibly prepared, and made the entire experience fun and interactive. We laughed, enjoyed the experience, and as it turned out, the gyoza was simply delicious. It is our intention to do additional classes with her. If I could give more stars, I would. As a side note, when we were in Tokyo last November, we stayed at the hotel where Junko was concierge. After talking to her for a few moments, we all realized we remembered each other from the trip. That added to the enjoyment. A small world indeed. Junko was and is delight, and I would heartily recommend her to anyone with (or without) a passion for cooking.

Jun 2020


host-Junko

Response from Junko
Hi Antoinette and Michael, Thank you very much for choosing my cooking class. We all could meet again thank to your reservation. I also enjoyed cooking and chatting with you. Both of you are good cookers!! Please make Gyoza for your family and friends. I'm looking forward to welcoming you next time. Junko


Rache, Phillipines

★★★★★

Junko was very patient with me, teaching me what to do and was very accomodating in all my inquiries / questions. I love the way she taught me how to make gyoza and sharing with me her life story. We even agreed to meet when we go to Tokyo and have ME time together. She alao offered for my boys to stay with her while I go out with my husband for a date. How cool is that! I only signed up for a cooking class but I got a friend in her! Thank you very much and I look forward to meet Junko in Tokyo!

Jun 2020


host-Junko

Response from Junko
Hi Rache, Thank you very much for your heartwarming review. I also enjoyed making Gyoza chatting and laughing with you. We cannot be at the same place in Online class, however I want to communicate each other as deeply as we can. So I was so glad you felt them. Of course, take your boys to my house when you visit Tokyo. I'll help you to have a date with your husband!! Junko


Carey, United Kingdom

★★★★★

My cooking lesson with Junko-sensei was very enjoyable. She taught me how to make gyoza from scratch, and explained every step clearly and easily so that I was able to learn the best techniques even via Zoom. I highly recommend her classes - you can learn Japanese cooking wherever you are in the world!

Jun 2020


host-Junko

Response from Junko
Hi Carey, Thank you so much for your recommendation in the review. I was happy that you've learned the tricky techniques enjoying. Please try to make Gyoza by your favorite filling next time. And you love Japanese Udon noodle and took interested in my Udon Class . So I'm looking forward to teaching you how to make Udon from scratch!! Junko


Helier, United Kingdom

★★★★★

Our zoom class was so much fun! And the food was delicious! Thanks Junko!

Jun 2020


host-Junko

Response from Junko
Hi Helier, Thank you very much for joining my online cooking class. It was my pleasure that two living in London and Washington enjoyed cooking together through my class. You are a nice couple!! I'm looking forward to seeing you next time. Junko


Alyse, Australia

★★★★★

Making gyoza with Junko san was so much fun! She is a joy to chat to about travel and food. Her personality is lovely - very kind, patient and helpful. My gyoza from home turned out very authentic thanks to her help. Would highly recommend taking a class with Junko san!

May 2020


host-Junko

Response from Junko
Hi Alyse, Thank you very much for joining my online class. After we finished taking care of family, our class in late night was relaxing and fun. I'm looking forward to see your lovely little daughters next time. Junko


Gricel , United States of America

★★★★★

Our cooking experience with Junko was amazing! We learned to cook a Japanese meal with some modifications to the ingredients we couldn’t obtained and everything was delicious! I definitely recommend you take all her classes.

May 2020


host-Junko

Response from Junko
Hi Gricel and Mario, Thank you for joining my online cooking class. I was happy to see you and cook together again in ZOOM which is in a difference way from last time. And Mario sang my favorite song playing a guitar!! I was so impressed! See you next time in Tokyo. Junko


Cheri, Macau

★★★★★

Love Junko’s class. I had a made-from-scratch dumpling class with Junko. Junko is patient and made the class an easy step to step process, so it’s easy to follow through. My boy and I enjoyed both the class and the dumplings at the end of the class. We’d def join Junko’s class again :)

May 2020


host-Junko

Response from Junko
Hi Cherry, Thank you so much for joining my new cooking class. I enjoyed cooking with you and your lovely son "Chichi" He is a good cooker!! I made sure that my online class is suitable for a mother and children this time. I'm looking forward to cooking with you next time!! Junko


{{item.guest_name}}, {{item.nationality}}


{{item.comment}}

{{item.month}} {{item.year}}


host-Junko

Response from Junko
{{item.host_review_reply}}


FAQ about Online cooking class of Gyoza from scratch | Cooking class by Junko

  • How long is this cooking class by Junko?

    Duration of this cooking class is 2 hours.

  • How much does it cost to join Online cooking class of Gyoza from scratch?

    It costs 2500 per person.

  • What is the maximum capacity of Junko's cooking class?

    Up to 4 people can join Junko's cooking class.

Additional cooking class information

  • Confirmation

    You will receive the confirmation within 24 hours.

  • Payment

    We accepts these cards on airKitchen.

  • Cancellation

    Cancellations up to 48 hours prior to the class begins will be fully refunded by the airKitchen cancellation policy.


All Cooking Classes in Tokyo

All Gyoza Cooking Classes in Tokyo